Departments

Scroll down for more information

Norwood Elementary Schools is organized into departments that supplement academic programs and student services. Each department is composed of dedicated experts in their fields who are committed to serving our students and their families.

To find out more about the departments, contact them, or access resources provided by these teams, click the tabs below to find out more.

Art Teachers
Ashley Potter | ashley.potter@warwickschools.org  
Melissa Cardillo | melissa.cardillo@warwickschools.org

The Norwood Elementary School Art department creates rich and engaging experiences and opportunities for all learners. A successful art program not only fosters many areas of growth in myriad ways, it helps students see and understand visual arts in different ways. Students begin to develop an aesthetic sense and understanding of their own design and see the potential in their own skills. They forge a sense of visual literacy that promotes individuality and critical thinking skills.

At Norwood Elementary, we want our students to experience the reward and joy of art that is both technically and spiritually expressive.

Music Teachers
Kristy Proccaccianti | kristy.proccaccianti@warwickschools.org
Glenn Shaffer | glenn.shaffer@warwickschools.org

Music education is a vital part of Norwood Elementary’s curriculum. Young learners show innumerable benefits from the exposure to music and the concepts of music making and music theory. Music education programs help young learners scholastic development in myriad ways as students not only take inspiration from the music but see lessons from other classes – math, science, english, social studies – echoed in song. They develop appreciation for human potential in the musicians they hear and seek to find and realize their own musical gifts.

Kindergarten Special Education Teacher
First Grade Special Education Teacher | Kristen Pina | kristen.pina@warwickschools.org
Second Grade Special Education Teacher |

Resource Teachers
Allison Mignanelli | allison.mignanelli@warwickschools.org 

Ashley Russell | ashley.russell@warwickschools.org 

Alternate Assessment
Intermediate
 I Courtney Popovschi | courtney.popovschi@warwickschools.org
Primary I Jana Laplante | jana.laplante@warwickschools.org

Federal and State Regulations that require the district to provide a free and appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment for students with disabilities govern the Warwick Public School System. The Special Education Department has in place a referral and evaluation process that addresses each child who might be in need of Special Education services. When a determination is made that a child qualifies for Special Education Services, there are a range of services and programs to meet the unique needs of each child.

Health & PE Teachers
Kim Bonn | kim.bonn@warwickschools.org    
Ann McLaughlin | ann.mclaughlin@warwickschools.org

Library Media Specialist | Sandra Savella | sandra.savella@warwickschools.org I Michelle Roth I michelle.roth@warwickschools.org

Norwood Elementary School has a wonderful selection of fiction and non-fiction books at every reading level. Students are encouraged to check out books on a weekly basis. Borrowed books should be returned on time and in good condition. Any damaged books can be returned to the librarian for repair, however it is the responsibility of the parent to reimburse the school for any books that are damaged beyond repair or lost. If necessary, final report cards will be held until either book or replacement costs are submitted.

Warwick Public Library Website

School NurseStephanie Breaton | stephanie.brearton@warwickschools.org